Archive

December Newsletter Round-up

For those of you not signed up for the Killer Reads newsletter – all you need to do is go to Win and enter the your details to receive our montly catch-up and you might also be lucky enough to win the selection of top titles we’re… Read More

2010 Crime Fiction Highlights

To whet your appetite HC editors Rachel Rayner and Sammia Rafique have put together a list of top titles you can expect from HarperCollins in 2010 whilst Mike Gerrard has put together a round-up of everything else you can expect and this will be going live in the new year... January Snow Hill by Mark Sanderson (HarperCollins) Mark Sanderson does for the 30s what Jake Arnott did for 60s London - vividly revealing its hidden underworld in an unforgettably gripping crime novel. Inspired by a true scandal that centred around Snow Hill police station in 1936. Read an extract here February Pretty Little Things by Jilliane Hoffman (HarperCollins) We've been excited about the latest offering from Jilliane Hoffman for a while now and there isn't long until publication. For an exclusive extract click here. City of Lies by Alafair Burke (Avon) The new fast-paced thriller from rising star Alafair Burke, where no-one in Manhattan is safe. And no-one is innocent. When New York University student Megan Gunther is murdered in a vicious attack after receiving threats posted on a campus website, NYPD Detective Ellie Hatcher is convinced there is a link. March Heresy by SJ Parris (HarperCollins) Introducing the monk Giodarno Bruno, magician, scientist, and heretic in a new series of historical thrillers for fans of C.J.Sansom and 'The Name of the Rose' For more information take a look at the book page. Read More

Mercy

It's hard to sit still when your client is scheduled to die in 15 hours! As he makes an 11th hour plea for mercy, lawyer Alex Sedaka is resigned to the fact that Clayton Burrows will be executed. Read More

A Q&A with Avon's David Kessler

The author of our current 'Featured Title' David Kessler gives us an insight into his world KillerReads: When did you start writing? David Kessler: When I was 15 and on the verge of dropping out of school in the early seventies.  I wrote a screenplay with a singing role for myself because I had dreams of being the next Donny Osmond.  I sent it to my mother's cousin - the film director Clive Donner.  He gave me some useful advice, but of course it was an early juvenile effort and nothing came of the project. However, having written it I discovered that I had a talent for creative writing - as distinct from singing or songwriting! And so I carried on writing from then on - and haven't stopped since. I should also acknowledge the earlier influence of my older sister Simone, who was an avid reader and writer.  There was a certain amount of sibling rivalry between us and I had already made some preliminary efforts at writing even when I was still in school to compete with her.  Also I should acknowledge the encouragement and positive influence of two of my English teachers: Mr McLaughlin and Mr Marx. Read More