In conversation with Lee Weeks

Category: News

kissanddieAvon author Lee Weeks publishes her 4th novel Kiss &  Die this month. Once again featuring Hong Kong detective Johnny Mann, Kiss & Die follows a  serial killer who appears to be a woman – her target, adulterous businessmen. Yet again, another nerve-shredding thriller from the bestseller Weeks and is perfect for fans of Karen Rose and James Patterson.

Killer Reads caught up with Lee for a quick chat.

Killer Reads: Who is Lee Weeks?

Lee Weeks: I was the youngest of three daughters. My father was a policeman and my mother was a nurse. It was a difficult childhood spent continually moving. I went to eight schools, lastly a convent, before coming to a mutual agreement with the nuns that it was time I left. I came out with one GCSE in Art and was accepted to Art college to do a foundation course. I dropped out and went to Sweden to work as an au pair for a year. After returning briefly, I headed towards a kibbutz in Israel, without a map, and didn’t get further than France. After France I stayed for six months in England taking a job as a hotel receptionist in Widecombe-in-the moor. I was given the sack after being accused (falsely) of Witchcraft – I went to live in a small Bavarian village in Germany and worked there as a barmaid before also being given the sack for being a witch! I moved to Munich, worked as a cocktail waitress before moving on to an American army base to live. I worked in a nearby town as a Disc Jockey. I returned home to take my missing GCSEs in a year and three A levels. Then, I headed off to Hong Kong where I lived for over a year and worked as a model and nightclub hostess. It was there that my, already evident, drug problem escalated when I was sold the local equivalent of amphetamine which turned out to be heroin. My supplier, Teresa, owed the triads money and I became part of the debt. After nine months of addiction, and reaching a near death situation, my life turned a corner and I decided to stop all drugs and to put my past behind me. I went into hiding, moving from hotel to hotel to escape Teresa. After three months, when I was at the end of my methadone program, I was rescued from the triads’ debt by a prominent member of Hong Kong society,  with whom I had an affair. I was allowed to leave Hong Kong. Returning to live in London, I moved in with an old college friend, fell pregnant and married. I had a second c Read More

Lee Weeks

Category: Author Post

Lee Weeks was born in Devon. She left school at seventeen and, armed with a notebook and very little cash, spent seven years working her way around Europe and South East Asia. She returned to settle in London, marry and raise two children. She has worked as an English teacher and personal fitness trainer. Her books have been Sunday Times bestsellers . She now lives in Devon.

Her latest novel, Kiss and Die, was published in July 2010, thrust the reader into the suspense-ridden story of a female serial killer, ostensibly targetting male businessmen which spirals out of control…

lee-weeks-kiss-and-die

www.leeweeks.co.uk

http://www.leeweeks.co.uk/blog.asp


Death Trip

Category: Books

Take a journey into the dark and dangerous world of Sunday Times bestseller Lee Weeks – if you dare! It was supposed to be the trip of a lifetime. But it became a journey into hell! Paradise has become a nightmare. Five young voluntary workers on a once in a lifetime gap year in Thailand have vanished into thin air. Entire villages lay ransacked, their people brutally murdered. Meanwhile, in Hong Kong, troubled detective Johnny Mann is haunted by personal demons, including the unsolved murder of his father. Trying to pick up the pieces of his life, he receives a desperate plea for help from a woman in Amsterdam – a woman who claims to have known his father intimately years before. Hoping to unravel to mystery shrouding his father’s death, Mann agrees to go undercover and search for the five missing teenagers, one of whom is the woman’s 18-year-old son, Jake. And Mann’s secret brother! From the carefree beaches of Thailand to the labyrinthine streets of Amsterdam, nothing is as at seems as Mann is plunged into conspiracy and peril and pitted against pure evil.

Read an extract from Death Trip

Buy Death Trip on Amazon