True Crime is the New Crime Fiction

Category: News

The future of crime fiction lies not in inventing ever more colourful crimes but in focusing on real-life wrongdoing”

This is the opinion of David Peace bestselling author of The Red Riding Quartet and The Damned United featured in the Guardian today. It’s obvious that this formula is something which works for him– The Red Riding Quartet is based on the Yorkshire Ripper murders.

Peace comments that there “isn’t much point making up new crimes” but isn’t that the point of crime fiction, to escape into a frighteningly real -‘unreal’ world were you feel comforted by the fact that it is simple no more than a work of fiction or is the shock and fear that that these crimes really have taken place that fascinates us readers.

Whatever side you choose to take it’s a very interesting debate…

Alibi's Search for a New Crime Writer

Category: News

Crime Writers' Competition

The hunt for a new crime writing talent is on! Fancy yourself as the next Stuart MacBride then keep reading.

HarperCollins have teamed up with crime drama channel Alibi, the infamous Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival and TV Times to uncover the UK’s hidden crime writing talent.

The ‘Search for a New Crime Writer’ competition asks budding writers to submit a short crime fiction story via the Alibi website the competition opens on Monday 25th January 2010 and closes at midday on Sunday 16th May 2010.

Our very own Stuart MacBride, author of the bestsellers Blind Eye, Cold Granite and Flesh House has lent his support to the competition by providing entrants with the story’s opening line…

‘In my experience, those who beg for mercy seldom deserve it’.

There will be one winner with two runners up who are in line to win some rather special prizes.
Read More

Announcing the 'Lost Man Booker Prize'

Category: News

Today saw the announcement of The Lost Man Booker Prize longlist – confused? This>is a one-off prize to honour books published in 1970 which missed out on the opportunity to win the Booker Prize.

In 1971, just two years after it began, the Booker Prize ceased to be awarded retrospectively and became, as it is today, a prize for the best novel in the year of publication. At the same time, the date on which the award was given moved from April to November. As a result of these changes, there was a whole year’s gap when a wealth of fiction, published in 1970 fell through the net. These books were simple never considered for the prize…until now.

The shortlist will be announced in March but, as with the Best of the Booker in 2008, the international reading public will decide the winner by voting via the Man Booker Prize website with the overall winner being announced in May.
Read More