COVER REVEAL: A LINE OF BLOOD by Ben McPherson

Category: Uncategorized

 

Today we are revealing the final cover of A LINE OF BLOOD, hitting the shops on March 26th in glorious hardback (and the digital world in glorious ebook). It is a chilling psychological thriller about family – the ties that bind us, and the lies that destroy us, perfect for fans of GONE GIRL.

 

You find your neighbour dead in his bath.

Your son is with you. He sees everything.

 

You discover your wife has been in the man’s house.

It seems she knew him.

 

Now the police need to speak to you.

 

One night turns Alex Mercer’s life upside down. He loves his family and he wants to protect them, but there is too much he doesn’t know.

 

He doesn’t know how the cracks in his and Millicent’s marriage have affected their son, Max. Or how Millicent’s bracelet came to be under the neighbour’s bed. He doesn’t know how to be a father to Max when his own world is shattering into pieces.

 

Then the murder investigation begins…

 

Pre-order the hardback here: http://ow.ly/HWZjy

Follow author Ben McPherson on twitter here: https://twitter.com/thebenmcpherson

And let us know what you thought on #LineofBlood

 

cover

Inspiration for The Apostle- J. A. Kerley

Category: Uncategorized

God Translators: Inspiration for The Apostle

The apostle packshot

It was 1978. I was down with the flu, sneezing into tissues and – my brain liquified by viral entities – watching daytime soaps. A news bulletin arrived, saying California Congressman Leo Ryan had just been viciously murdered in Jonestown, Guyana, there to investigate human-rights abuses at ‘The People’s Temple’, the home of a religious sect headed by the Reverend Jim Jones.

After his special squad of enforcers – the ‘Red Brigade’ – killed Ryan and four others, Reverend Jones convinced over 900 loyal followers to commit suicide by drinking cyanide, over 300 of them children. Those demurring were forced to drink the poison.

Homebound, I had little to do but fixate on the unfolding story over the next few days, fascinated that so many human beings had traded their freedom – and ultimately their lives – for  a self-professed ‘Man of God’ who was clearly unbalanced, paranoiac and violent, particularly toward the final days of his tragic journey.

Fast-forward to 2005: I’m pulling out of Jackson, Mississippi, and heading home to Kentucky. It’s Sunday morning in the Deep South and a cultural requisite to tune to hellfire-and-brimstone fundamentalist radio. I happened upon a preacher adamant about a passage in the Bible ‘that God wants you to understand, needs you to understand.’ It’s further explained that the true meaning of God’s crucial communiqué is available from the preacher for ‘only forty dollars’.

The salesman of this revelation was the infamous Reverend Jimmy Swaggart, a pentecostal preacher and televangelist disgraced by sex-related scandals in the late 1980s and early 1990s. It seemed that the omnipotent creator of time and space and vast whirling galaxies couldn’t communicate in plain language and had to rely on translation by a defrocked minister.

It’s religibiquitous: Jim Bakker’s sexual and financial pecadilloes paved the way for his fall from grace, yet he’s currently begging for money in the name of The Almighty. Benny Hinn has been exposed for false healings and a lavish lifestyle, yet retains a broad following and reaps millions annually. And let’s not forget Oral Roberts, who blubbered to his tele-congregation that unless they donated a fast eight million bills to his ministry, God would kill him.

The money poured in.

The newest wrinkle in religio-fundraising is the’“Prosperity Gospel’, a premise holding that Jesus’s caring for the poor was overblown and what Christ truly wanted was everyone materially rich beyond measure. You board this high-yield glory train by giving money that will – through faith – return a hundredfold.

But, of course, the prosperity preacher gets his palm fed first.

The above events and ideas share a commonality: Their practitioners misinterpret religious texts and dogma to benefit their causes, then convince others to buy into the lies. It’s con artistry, pure and simple. And sometimes with disastrous consequences.

These concepts and consequences have been tumbling in my head since I was captive to the flu and beholding the Jonestown horror, finally emerging as The Apostle. The story details grim happenings and heroic ones, and – as in any enterprise where larcenous religionists necessarily lie to themselves – some amusing ones.

The Apostle is not anti-religion. It’s anti-hypocrite, anti-charlatan, anti-lunatic. And to help lead the charge against false idols, Harry Nautilus has returned to the fold, Carson’s right-hand, left-hand, hand-you-never-knew-you-had-nor-needed man.

Brother Harry’s singing in the choir once again.

Halle-freaking-lujah!

Get your copy now http://bit.ly/1r29pHX

All I Want for Christmas – J.A. Kerley

Category: Featured

http://https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yXQViqx6GMY

We asked J.A. Kerley, author of the recently released The Apostle, if he could have written any  other book if he was granted a Christmas wish, which would it be?

 

santa1

This is what he had to say:

In the mystery genre, the book I would most liked to have written is James Lee Burke’s In the Electric Mist with Confederate Dead. There are three interwoven threads: a hunt for a killer, a movie being made, and the protagonist’s interaction with ghosts he thinks are visiting him and leaving cryptic instructions. Like many of Burke’s works, the line between reality and illusion is uncertain. The characters are richly drawn and often frightful and violent and – again a repeat motif in Burke’s work – moved like puppets by events from the past. A masterwork.

J.A. Kerley’s The Apostle is out now! Order your copy – http://amzn.to/1yYR8hz

James Lee Burke