DS Max Craigie Scottish Crime Thrillers - The Devil You Know (DS Max Craigie Scottish Crime Thrillers, Book 5)

By Neil Lancaster

‘A tense and twisty thriller that had me gnawing my fingernails one minute and laughing out loud the next.’Marion Todd


Six years ago, Beata Dabrowski arranged to meet her lover in Glasgow and was never seen again. There were no leads… until now.


Imprisoned gang boss Davie Hardie wants to talk in exchange for his freedom. He knows exactly where Beata is buried, and he’s prepared to take the police to her grave.


But when the mission to locate Beata’s body is hijacked, DS Max Craigie is drafted on to the case. Someone is selling secrets.

Max will stop at nothing to expose police corruption and uncover Beata’s murderer… but can you ever really trust a killer to catch a killer?

Don’t miss the next book in the DS Max Craigie series! Fans of Ian Rankin and Marion Todd will love this utterly gripping Scottish thriller!

Praise for The Devil You Know

‘Neil Lancaster is one of the most exciting, innovative crime writers in the UK right now… One of the best police procedurals I’ve read in a long time. Consider me a fan’ M. W. Craven

‘This tale is fast and furious with blue lights and screaming sirens all the way’ The Sun

‘Action-packed & lightning-paced with some of the best dialogue I’ve read. I’m a huge fan of Lancaster and he’s a true rising star in crime fiction. Explosive & compellingHelen Fields

‘As hard as it is to believe, these books just get better and betterTony Kent

A wickedly clever and riveting thriller’ Graham Bartlett

‘Neil Lancaster just gets better and better. This is a gripping read that feels entirely authentic, seasoned with lovely flashes of humour’ Cass Green

Format: ebook
Release Date: 28 Mar 2024
Pages: None
ISBN: 978-0-00-855130-8
NEIL LANCASTER is the No. 1 digital bestselling author of both the Tom Novak and Max Craigie series. His first Craigie novel, Dead Man’s Grave, was longlisted for the 2021 McIlvanney Prize for Best Scottish Crime Book of the Year. The second Craigie novel, The Blood Tide, topped several ebook and audio charts. It was also longlisted for the 2022 McIlvanney Prize and shortlisted for Best New Series at the Dead Good Reader Awards.Neil served as a military policeman and worked for the Metropolitan Police as a detective, investigating serious crimes in the capital and beyond. As a covert policing specialist, he used all manner of techniques to investigate and disrupt major crime and criminals. He now lives in the Scottish Highlands, writes crime and thriller novels and works as a broadcaster and commentator on true crime documentaries. He is an expert on two Sky Crime TV series, Meet, Marry, Murder and Made for Murder.Twitter: www.twitter.com/@neillancaster66

”'Smashed through it, top work!” - Callum McSorley

”'Neil Lancaster has an unerring ability to keep the pages turning. And he’s produced another belter of a book” - John Sutherland

”'Breakneck pacing combined with devious plotting and compulsive narrative hooks you from first page” - Neil Broadfoot

”'Yet again, Lancaster has knocked it out of the park, over the main road, and into somebody's back garden!” - Paul Gitsham