The Outsider

By Jane Casey

A gripping new crime thriller which will delight Jane Casey fans!

He came to destroy the family. Now he’s the one in danger.

As an undercover police officer, Rob Langton is used to terrifying situations. But his new assignment is the most dangerous yet – to infiltrate the notorious Carter family, and bring its patriarch Geraint to justice.

After gaining Geraint’s trust, Rob finds himself becoming the criminal’s right-hand man. The deeper Rob gets, the more danger he’s in.

Then Geraint’s horrific plan comes to light – a bomb in a public place, designed to stir up anti-immigrant sentiment. Rob is the only person who can stop the carnage, but time is running out…

Perfect for fans of Jane Casey and fans of thrillers, The Outsider turns the spotlight on one of the most intriguing characters from Maeve Kerrigan’s world.

Look out for the latest book in Jane Casey’s brilliant Maeve Kerrigan and Josh Derwent series, A Stranger in the Family, coming March 2024!

Author: Jane Casey
Format: ebook
Release Date: 23 Nov 2023
Pages: 288
ISBN: 978-0-00-844595-9
Jane Casey was born and brought up in Dublin. A former editor, she has written twelve crime novels for adults and three for teenagers. Her books have been international bestsellers, critically acclaimed for their realism and accuracy. The Maeve Kerrigan series has been nominated for many awards: in 2015 Jane won the Mary Higgins Clark Award for The Stranger You Know and Irish Crime Novel of the Year for After the Fire. In 2019, Cruel Acts was chosen as Irish Crime Novel of the Year at the Irish Book Awards. It was a Sunday Times bestseller. The Killing Kind was a Richard and Judy Book Club pick in 2021, and is being adapted for television. Jane lives in southwest London with her husband, who is a criminal barrister, and their two children.

Praise for Jane Casey -

”'A full-blooded triple-decker mystery that is intriguing and exciting. The Close is Jane Casey at her very best” - The Times

”'I loved, loved, LOVED The Close. If you haven’t read Jane Casey, start immediately - excellent police procedurals with DELICIOUS sexual tension” - Marian Keyes

”'Another cracker from Jane Casey” - Cara Hunter

”'A deliciously bingeable read” - Ruth Ware

”'Simmering tension between the main characters, [a] tightly plotted mystery…a brilliant example of nothing being as it seems” - Harriet Tyce

”'Casey excels at showing how a detective’s stresses and anxieties are rooted in more than just their work” - Linwood Barclay

”'The Close is Jane’s best Maeve Kerrigan novel yet. Absolutely brilliant!” - Liz Nugent

”'Intense, intriguing, and shot through with a simmering 'will they/won't they' tension” - Neil Lancaster

”'Splendidly menacing, it confirms Casey’s exceptional story-telling skill” - Daily Mail

”'Simmers with non-stop heat and tension” - Andrea Mara

”'A meticulously plotted thriller populated with a cast of richly drawn characters that exudes a distinct air of deadly menace” - Irish Independent

”'Jane Casey is writing the most dangerously addictive series in crime fiction and The Close absolutely sizzles with her trademark tension” - Erin Kelly

”'Thrums with the tension of a classic crime thriller…Brilliant” - Sarah Hilary

”''Whodunnit' and 'will they, won’t they' are two equally enticing questions and, here, readers will have great fun guessing the answer to both” - Daily Mirror

”'An addictive, razor-sharp thriller” - Woman’s Weekly

”'As deeply satisfying yet intensely moreish as all its predecessors - I devoured it, I loved it, I want the next one ASAP, please” - Lucy Mangan

”'I love Jane Casey's writing, and The Close is a real treat for both long-time fans and new readers alike. Completely addictive” - BP Walter