Book Trailer: City on Fire by Don Winslow

Providence, RI, 1986.

Twenty-nine-year-old Danny Ryan is a hard-working longshoreman, loving husband, loyal friend, and occasional “muscle” for the Irish crime syndicate that oversees much of the city. He yearns for something more and dreams of starting over fresh, someplace far away.

But when a modern-day Helen of Troy triggers a war between rival mob factions, Danny is embroiled in a conflict he can’t escape. Now it is up to him to step into the breach to protect his family, the friends who are closer to him than brothers, and the only home he’s ever known.

Exploring classic themes of loyalty, betrayal, honour, and corruption on both sides of the law, City on Fire is a contemporary Iliad from Don Winslow, “one of America’s greatest storytellers” (Stephen King).

The new thriller from the #1 international bestseller – the start of a brand new trilogy

Times Best Book for 2022

‘Don Winslow is a master’ – Michael Connelly, bestselling author of The Law of Innocence

‘Epic, ambitious, majestic, City on Fire is The Godfather for our generation.’ Adrian McKinty, #1 bestselling author of The Chain

‘Echoing Homer’s epic Iliad, Winslow delivers a fast-paced, intense, and brooding story. It’s perfect for readers of William Boyle, James Lee Burke, and Dennis Lehane.’  Library Journal

‘Rich in action and riveting characters, hugely entertaining, City on Fire brings the reader into a fable about the escalating stakes of underworld warfare, with an emotional depth that lingers long after the book is finished’ Kyle Perry, author of The Bluffs

‘Don Winslow’s City on Fire is a masterpiece – wonderfully crafted, beautifully written, and a propulsive, authentic page-turner’ Christian White, author of The Nowhere Child

Other Articles

An interview with Jane Shemilt, author of THE PATIENT

Jane Shemilt discusses writing THE PATIENT, creating a sense of place and mental health in this interview Read More

Read an extract from CITY ON FIRE, the start of a gripping new trilogy from Don Winslow

Read an extract from CITY ON FIRE - the first in Don Winslow's exciting new trilogy, inspired by Homer's Iliad. Read More

The Craziest Thing You Have Ever Done: Kate Mildenhall on THE MOTHER FAULT

Kate Mildenhall recounts her experiences sailing from Australia to Indonesia as inspiration for her latest novel The Mother Fault... Read More